Record Details



Before we were yours / by Lisa Wingate.

Wingate, Lisa, (author.).

Additional Content For This Title

Available copies

Current holds

8 current holds with 18 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Trails Regional-Holden LT FIC Win (Text) 2204618705 Large Type Fiction In transit -
Cameron Public Library FIC WIN (Text) 32311111186837 Adult Fiction On holds shelf -
Cass County Library-Northern Resource Center LP F WIN 2017 (Text) 0002205021203 Adult Large Print Available -
De Soto Public Library LPF WIN (Text) 33858000108037 Large Print Fiction Checked out 03/04/2019
Jefferson County Library-Arnold LP F WINGATE Lisa (Text) 30061000256871 Best Seller Available -
Jefferson County Library-Windsor LP F WINGATE Lisa (Text) 30000024434676 Large Print Checked out 03/07/2019
Lebanon-Laclede County Library LgP F Wingate (Text) 3803546796 Large Print Fiction Checked out 03/14/2019
Little Dixie - Main Library - Moberly LP F WINGATE (Text) 2004067829 New Adult Fiction Shelves Checked out 02/22/2019
Little Dixie - Main Library - Moberly LP F WINGATE (Text) 2004075015 New Adult Fiction Shelves Checked out 01/27/2018
Little Dixie - Main Library - Moberly LP F WINGATE (Text) 2004129344 New Adult Fiction Shelves In transit -
Next 10 »

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.---Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.
Subject: Brothers and sisters > Fiction.
Orphanages > Fiction.
Large type books.
Genre Fiction > Family Saga.
Genre Fiction > Historical.
Genre: Historical fiction.

Additional Resources